An Introduction to Bizarre Zoology

Logo of the Bizarre Zoology blog, illustrated by Essex artist Thomas Finley
Logo of the Bizarre Zoology blog, illustrated by Essex artist Thomas Finley

All too often, I encounter people who somehow regard the animal kingdom as being static, boring, and irrelevant to ‘the human world’. In reality, Zoology has shown it to be a plethora of diverse and truly bizarre species, evolutionary histories, anatomies, and behaviors. Reflecting a lifelong interest in such matters, I set out to start a blog through which I could share my musings on noteworthy findings and speculations relating to the fields of Zoology, Cryptozoology, Paleontology, and Paleoanthropology. Since August of 2012, I have been writing at a blog titled Bizarre Zoology (see former location here) with over eighty articles published. This site exceeded 300,000 views at its most recent publication and was home to 1,031 comments. Despite this considerable success, I have since moved its location to WordPress, an act which may lead one to wonder why I have started anew. The answer largely lies with issues arising from the Blogger platform, such as the small text size and inability to upload images. The features which a WordPress domain has to offer are also better-suited for my blog. Through media attachment capabilities such as the inclusion of PowerPoint and PDF files, I will be able to vary the content I produce and perhaps include some of the related work I have done during the schooling which has otherwise prevented my ability to produce articles. I may run into some unexpected drawbacks or even revert back to the Blogger domain entirely, but I am currently hopeful about the future of this blog’s relocation. As you will see in forthcoming articles, my style of writing has changed somewhat in contrast to what can be found on my older site. The overall tone and structure has improved, which I owe to the spectacular education I have received from my highschool’s English department. Also, the organization of my articles has changed so as to better relay my thoughts in writing, as I am now using titles to better distinguish and space out my points.

025
Various photographs taken by the author, with each representing one of the blog’s focal points of Zoology, Cryptozoology, Paleontology, and Paleoanthropology, respectively.

Why is this blog worth reading out of the numerous other zoology-related blogs, you may ask? I feel that my status as a young enthusiast eager for academic training provides a unique approach and insight into the development of scientific thinking. If life works out as planned, I will soon be entering into college with a major in Animal Behavior, Ecology, and Conservation and a minor in Anthropology. I intend to share my journey into academia through this blog and accordingly will be advancing its scholarly quality through more frequent references to technical literature and terminology. The Bizarre Zoology blog is meant to be appealing to those with casual or recently acquired zoological interests, but this inclusion is merely meant to develop my  writing so as to prepare for formal scientific communication.

805
The author pondering a reconstruction and fossil material of the polycotylid plesiosaur Edgarosaurus at the Museum of the Rockies. Don’t take the pose seriously.

In previous writing, I largely focused upon matters pertaining to the controversial field of Cryptozoology. However, with the advent of this new blog, I will attempt to shift the focus more towards Zoology, Paleontology, and Paleoanthropology. The coverage of Cryptozoology will of course remain present, but in keeping with my entering into formal scientific training, I wish to venture deeper into the established academic fields in which I may very well find a professional occupation. Also, I must admit that some of the cryptozoological articles on the former Bizarre Zoology express views and hypotheses which I no longer find likely, and thus the move of location will help me to start from a clean slate.

cropped-my-neanderthal-skull.jpg
The Bizarre Zoology blog may have been long inactive due to my being preoccupied with high school, but my zoological interests and undertakings have continued. Here’s a cast of the La Ferrassie 1 Neanderthal skull which a local university was so kind as to let me borrow for a school presentation I gave on the extinction of these hominins. My classmates met this with much fascination and wonder, demonstrating the strong educational value that actual material fossil casts serve in discussing hominin evolutionary biology.

This brief post may seem confusing and futile to those who have no previous familiarity with my work, but I promise that substantial articles are on the way. If you’re interested in learning about my past work and general interests, check out the About page. Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog, and I hope that you stop back for more Bizarre Zoology.

Leave a Reply

